It’s Been a Year…

It has been a year since I last posted here. So much has changed since then, immensely! Where do I even begin as I sit here and try to look back at all the things that has happened?

I guess this is where my story begins as the change started…

I moved out of Santa Barbara. Yeah, I know, crazy right?! I left at the end of December 2016, only a few months after my last post. I realized at the time that it was about that point in my life where I left the place that left me so miserable and depressed that last couple of years. Now I’m out here in San Diego, back home with the family and finally being able to take part in familial affairs that I had missed out on for the past seven years. Though, that has changed as well. Everyone has grown up so there really is no need to come together anymore; laziness or just having grown out of it all.

I also had to leave my job back in Santa Barbara too. After two years, that place has taught me a lot and I wish I could have stayed but obviously, it’s back in Santa Barbara. Since then, I’ve had three different jobs. I couldn’t make one stick, not because I was incapable, but because they didn’t fit my needs and what I was looking for in a job. I’ve just recently completed my first month at my current job. For the sake of my resume, I will be here a while. It’s not too bad, apart from the fact that my boss is like a maniac jerk. But it pays well, the work isn’t all that bad, and my coworkers are pretty chill.

I’ve started a new traveling hobby, too, this year. It’s an expensive hobby but I rarely ever spend my money on anything else anyway so might as well spend it on something I enjoy and love. This past April, I went to Japan with a friend and her family. It was pretty cool, although we pretty much just did touristy things. The food there was amazing though so I can’t complain. From cold and rainy Japan, I flew over to hot and humid Vietnam and met up with a friend, whom, at the time, I had such a huge crush on. He was cool. He encouraged me to see the world and get out there while I was still young. He was older than me by about six years so long story short, it didn’t really work out. But we had a blast in Vietnam. We went out to Castaway Island where we pretty much spent three days and two nights drinking, partying, and doing a bunch of water activities. Once we returned back to the mainland, we had about a day to just take a walk around the town before we had our flights out the next morning. I flew down to South Vietnam to visit family, while he flew elsewhere. I only spent a couple of days with my family before having to leave back to the states.

Not long after I returned, the following weekend arrived and I was on my way to my first Coachella Music Festival. It was definitely an amazing experience, but HOT! Following Coachella, I went to visit Santa Barbara for alumni weekend, just before having to start a new job.

At this new job, though, was probably where my life took the biggest turn it had in years. I met someone. Despite having a really complicated relationship the first couple of months, we finally started to get serious and I’m still trying to get the hang of this relationship thing, especially having been single since that one person. This was probably the biggest change that I’ve had this year apart from moving back to San Diego. What I think though, this is a good change. And here we are today, making plans for trips and travels together. I’m in a position now where I can share my most adored hobby with another person, and I’m thrilled.

*Side note (since this didn’t really fit anywhere else in my story): Somewhere along the way, in July, I went to Cartagena, Colombia for some time. I’d say that it could have been a better trip if some of our plans worked out but I’m glad I went anyway. Although it’s pretty third-world, there were some parts of it that were just incredibly beautiful! Also, their coconut-lime juice was ridiculously good!

Leave a Reply

